Hello Frenchie

For our May meeting of Crafty Chicks, I led the group in creating French memo boards.   I’ve done it once before, completely trial and error, but this time I looked up some directions and we tried to follow those.  It’s a pretty basic concept.

1. Cut foam board to desired dimensions.

2. Cut batting 1″ larger than board on all sides. Cut fabric 1″ larger than batting.

3.  Hot glue to board.

4. Place ribbon where you want it and hot glue to back.

5. Place tacks at ribbon crossing and glue in back to keep in place.

6.  Glue on picture hook.

7. Hang on wall.

I would remember to iron the fabric before putting it on and keep everything fairly tight when you are gluing it down.  I also used very thin ribbon because I didn’t want to cover the pattern on the fabric (and that’s all I had in the house:)).

I decided to use my button cover maker to cover the thumbtacks with the same fabric, as to not draw and extra attention to them, but you could totally use some really elaborate tacks and make them the standout part of the board.